Rudy Davalos to be honored by Texas Sports HOF

 WACO, TX –  The Texas Sports Hall of Fame (TSHOF) is proud to announce that Rudy Davalos has been selected as the 2016 recipient of the Lamar Hunt Lifetime Achievement Award for his contributions, leadership and impact in the world of intercollegiate athletics.

Davalos will be honored at the Texas Sports Hall of Fame’s 2nd Annual Legends Gala on Monday, August 15. A VIP reception will be held in San Antonio, Texas at The Stable at Pearl at 5:45 pm followed by the award presentation and dinner at 7:00 pm.

"We are delighted to be able to honor Rudy for his amazing career and contributions to sports," said Jared Mosley, the President/CEO of the Texas Sports Hall of Fame. "He has been a pioneer on a number of fronts and is recognized as one of the most respected athletic administrators in the entire country.  His inclusion in 6 different Halls of Fame and in 2003 being named to the Sports Illustrated Top 101 Minorities in Sports further validates the impact and legacy that Rudy has established during his career.”

For information on how to purchase tickets, table sponsorships, and congratulatory program ads, call the Texas Sports Hall of Fame at 254-756-1633 or visit the and click on the Legends Gala link.

Proceeds from the fundraising gala will benefit the ongoing mission and educational outreach efforts of the Texas Sports Hall of Fame, as well as the establishment of a permanent endowment in honor of Rudy Davalos.


About the Lamar Hunt Lifetime Achievement Award

The award was established to honor an individual who has achieved special acclaim by being influential in enhancing Texas sports and Texas sports history. The criteria include having had, through the course of one’s life, a significant and positive impact on the landscape of Texas sports.

The Lamar Hunt Lifetime Achievement Award represents one of the highest honors bestowed by the Texas Sports Hall of Fame and our past recipients are among the great leaders who vision and service in the world of sports has left a lasting legacy for us all:

2006 – Red McCombs

2009 – Don Carter

2014 – Drayton McLane

2015 – Dave and Reba Campbell


About Lamar Hunt

Lamar Hunt, a 1984 Texas Sports Hall of Fame inductee, was instrumental in establishing the organization’s first building, which opened in Grand Prairie, Texas in 1980. As a pro sports entrepreneur, Lamar Hunt changed forever the structure of pro football. He founded the American Football League in 1960, and his Dallas Texans were among the league's eight franchises. After winning the AFL title in 1962, the Texans moved and became the Kansas City Chiefs. In 1966, Hunt was one of the principal architects of the AFL-NFL merger. He also gave the Super Bowl its name and, coincidentally, his Chiefs played in the first one on Jan. 15, 1967. Hunt has served as a president of the AFC since its inception in 1970, and its championship trophy was named in his honor. In 1967 Hunt, along with Dave Dixon and Al G. Hill Jr., formed the World Championship Tennis tour (WCT). That same year Hunt also invested in the Dallas Tornado Soccer Club in the NASL. He was an original investor in Major League Soccer and part owner of the Kansas City Wizards. Hunt is a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame (1972), International Tennis Hall of Fame (1993), and the National Soccer Hall of Fame (1982).


About Rudy Davalos

A native of San Antonio, Texas, Rudy Davalos established himself as a standout basketball student-athlete at Southwest Texas State University.  He was a captain of the 1960 National Championship team and also earned NAIA 1st Team All-America and NAIA 1st team All-Tournament honors that year.  Davalos was selected to the NAIA All-Star Team to compete in the 1960 Olympic Trials and his team defeated Ohio State in the opening round matchup. 

A longtime coach and athletics administrator, Rudy Davalos led an extraordinary career in athletics, one that ended in 2006 when he retired as director of athletics at the University of New Mexico (UNM). He also served as AD at the University Houston and the University of Texas San Antonio (UTSA); he initiated the UTSA athletic department into NCAA Division I. 

Prior to his athletics director stints, Davalos enjoyed a successful coaching career. After three assistant coaching stops, he was named the head men’s basketball coach at the University of the South, where he led the Tigers to its best single-season record in program history with a 23-4 mark in 1972-73. He would move on to become an assistant coach for the NBA’s San Antonio Spurs until he moved on to become the AD at Texas San Antonio. 

Davalos led the Lobo athletics department to many records and significant accomplishments during his 14-year tenure. UNM teams made NCAA postseason play 112 times, won or shared 35 regular season or postseason conference championships, and the ski team won the 2004 NCAA Championship, becoming the first Lobo program to win a national title. Thanks to efforts from Davalos, UNM’s fundraising organization, the Lobo Club, produced $6 million annually, which was a factor in Davalos increasing the department’s budget from $9.4 million to $22 million, while never finishing a fiscal year over budget during his tenure. Sports Illustrated named Davalos as one of the top 101 minorities in sports.

Davalos continues to stay engaged in the athletic scene.  In 2010 he established the Horseshoe Bay Sports Club, which now has over 300 active members.  This group convenes each month for breakfast and to hear from leaders across the athletic landscape.  

Back to index...