5th Annual Texas Shootout To Be Held May 2

The 5th Annual Texas Shootout will be held May 2 at the Ferrell Center at Baylor University starting with the girls game at 10:45, with the boys to follow 30 minutes after.
The shootout is an all-star basketball game for high school seniors across the state of Texas that benefits the Texas Sports Hall of Fame. Players are nominated by filling out a form online and athletes from any division, private or public schools of any size, may be chosen. Once they are nominated, a committee looks at the players based on their statistics, skills, and character. They may be scouted by members of the committee and they will evaluate whether or not they are good representations of their school.  The teams, composed of 25-30 of the best boys and girls players, are announced in April along with the coaches, who are considered based on their experience and results.
The shootout was founded by Brian Winarick, Travis Minor, Travis Mennitt and Curt Veselka. “I began this event for the love of the game. I remember thte last shot in the last second of the last game I ever played. I want these kids to have as much fun as possible and never forget the last game they play in their high school career,” said Winarick.
Many former players have gone on to play at the college level, including Iowa State University guard Nikki Moody of Dallas, Baylor University forward Kristina Higgins of El Paso, University of Texas guard Empress Davenport of Duncanville, University of Texas forward Jonathan Holmes of San Antonio, Texas Christian University forward Devonta Abron of Dallas, and Baylor University forward Royce O’Neale of Killeen.
Former coaches include Texas Sports Hall of Fame inductees Leta Andrews, Sue Cannon, and Max Williams, as well as National High School Basketball Coach of the Year J.D. Mayo.
“The hall of fame carries a lot of recognition,” said Winarick. “It’s pretty cool for them to be a part of such a big name.”
Tickets are $5 for adults and can be purchased by calling the Texas Sports Hall of Fame at 254-756-1633. 
Back to index...