McLane to Receive TSHOF's Lamar Hunt Lifetime Achievement Award

In conjunction with its Annual Induction Banquet the Texas Sports Hall of Fame will present its Lamar Hunt Lifetime Achievement Award to Texas entrepreneur and philanthropist Drayton McLane, Jr. The award, to honor the memory of the late Texas sports entrepreneur, Lamar Hunt, has been presented only twice previously since its inception. In 2006 the first Lamar Hunt Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Red McCombs and Don Carter won it the following year.


“The Lamar Hunt Lifetime Achievement Award was established to honor an individual who has achieved special acclaim by being influential in enhancing Texas sports and Texas sports history,” said museum Executive Director Steve Fallon. “The criteria include having had, through the course of one’s life, a significant and positive impact on the landscape of Texas sports, and Mr. McLane certainly fits the criteria,” Fallon added.


The Lamar Hunt Lifetime Achievement award is not an annual award. Rather, it is an award given by the Executive Committee of the Texas Sports Hall of Fame Board of Trustees when they feel there is an individual who should be recognized for his/her contributions to Texas Sports history.

Drayton McLane, Jr. is best known as the former very successful owner of the Houston Astros. From the time he purchased the team in 1993 and up to 2005, the Astros ranked fifth in the Majors and second in the National League in winning percentage, and they won the National League pennant that year and advanced to the World Series. McLane sold the team in 2011 and is currently serving as the CEO of Mclane Advanced Technologies. 

McLane is no stranger to honors and awards. He is an inductee in the Texas Baseball Hall of Fame and also is a past recipient of his alma mater’s Baylor University Distinguished Alumni Award.

McLane will formally receive the Lamar Hunt Lifetime Achievement Award at the Texas Sports Hall of Fame’s “Class of 2014” Induction Banquet on Thursday, February 27, 2014 in Baylor University’s Ferrell Center. Scheduled to be in Waco for induction that night are former Texas Ranger’s catcher Ivan Pudge Rodriguez, former University of Texas All-American Defensive End Doug English, former U-T track star and Olympic Gold Medalist Sanya Richards-Ross, former Texas A&M and Dallas Cowboys linebacker Dat Nguyen, former Aggie football legend Charles Krueger, former Baylor quarterback Don Trull, former NFL star running back Thurman Thomas and former NBA legend Larry Johnson. 

More information and ticket purchases can be made by either calling the museum at (800) 567-9561 or online at

Back to index...