Texas Sports Hall of Fame inducts three-time Super Bowl champion Darren Woodson

Texas Sports Hall of Fame to induct three-time Super Bowl champion Darren Woodson
Dallas Cowboys legend joins seven other honorees at February 21 dinner in Waco

WACO, TX –  February XX, 2017 – The Texas Sports Hall of Fame (TSHOF) announces that football legend Darren Woodson will be included in its 2017 class. Darren, along with seven other exceptional athletes, will be formally recognized and inducted into the TSHOF on Tuesday, February 21 in Waco, Texas

Darren, a Phoenix native, was a second-round pick in the 1992 NFL Draft. He was a converted linebacker at Arizona State University, where he earned a bachelor of science in justice studies. He was inducted into the Arizona Sports Hall of Fame and the Arizona State University Athletic Ring of Honor.

Darren earned a reputation as one of the hardest hitters and most ferocious safeties during his 13 seasons in the NFL. He played for the Dallas Cowboys from 1992-2004, quarterbacking the team’s defense during its three championship runs in the 1990s (Super Bowls XXVII, XXVII and XXX). Darren registered career totals of 11 sacks, 23 interceptions and 1,350 tackles – the most in Cowboys franchise history at the time of his retirement in 2004.

He was selected to the Pro Bowl five times (1994, 1995, 1996, 1997 and 1998) with three All-Pro selections by the AP (1994, 1995 and 1996). In recognition of his outstanding career, Darren was inducted into the prestigious Cowboys Ring of Honor at AT&T Stadium on November 1, 2015.
“The gratitude and honor of being inducted in the 2017 Texas Sports Hall of Fame was just overwhelming. I’ve known so many guys before me, players that I’d played with while with the Cowboys – Troy Aikman, Michael Irvin – both who’ve been inducted,” said Darren. “I remember conversations with Troy when he came back and how excited he was to be nominated, and Michael Irvin, the same. It’s a complete honor to be recognized in that manner, especially with the great athletes that have represented this great state of Texas.”

Darren joined ESPN as an NFL analyst in 2005. He appears on NFL Live and SportsCenter, as well as other ESPN platforms throughout the year.
In addition to his analyst work for ESPN, Darren is directly involved in supporting Teach 4 Service, which assists military children on their educational journey by equipping them with life knowledge and skills. Darren remains active in the Dallas community, most notably as a board member for the North Texas Chapter of the Make-a-Wish Foundation and the Interfaith Housing Coalition, and as an advocate for United Way of Metropolitan Dallas. 

Presented by Texas Farm Bureau Insurance, Darren will join other inductees at the February event including former Houston Cougars NCAA women’s volleyball player Rita Buck-Crockett, former Texas A&M & Los Angeles Rams defensive back Dave Elmendorf,  Texas A&M University track & field coach Pat Henry, former Houston Cougars NCAA women’s volleyball player Flo Hyman (deceased), 2008 Olympic all-around gymnastics champion Nastia Liukin, former University of Texas dual-sport athlete Eric Metcalf and Denver Broncos football defensive coordinator Wade Phillips. This class joins a long list of Texas sport legends forever being honored as a member of the Texas Sports Hall of Fame.
The February 21 event will begin with a reception at the Texas Sports Hall of Fame at 4 p.m., with a 6 p.m. banquet at the Waco Convention Center. Combination Reception/Banquet tickets are $200 each or $1,400 for a reserved table of eight. Banquet-only tickets can be purchased for $75 each, or $600 for a reserved table of eight. To purchase tickets, please call the museum at 800-567-9561 or visit
For additional information on Darren or any of the other inductees, please contact Adrian Patenaude,, or Jay Black,

About the Texas Sports Hall of Fame
The Texas Sports Hall of Fame and Museum, located in Waco, Texas, chronicles the heroes and legends of the Lone Star State sports at all levels, including high school standouts, Olympians and professionals. Established in 1993, the organization’s mission is to preserve the legacies of all inductees and the history of sports in Texas to educate and inspire guests of all ages. Home to over 300 Texas Legends, the museum houses the Texas Tennis Museum and Hall of Fame and Texas High School Football Hall of Fame. The Texas Sports Hall of Fame is located at 1108 S. University Parks Dr. Waco, Texas 76706. For more information, please visit


Back to index...